Repost: M1 Garand Project 8/28/06

I ordered a Wilson .308 Win barrel from Midway today. I could have went with a more expensive barrel, but I will have shot it out before I can appreciate its effect on my scores. $219.99 shipped.

This entry was posted in Firearms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Repost: M1 Garand Project 8/28/06

  1. Brittius says:

    In a .308, very interesting.

    • n3mra says:

      I like .308, and even though this wasn’t a tanker carbine (that were made in .308), I decided to replace it with a .308. As strange as this is, I heard tale of a man who figured out you could put a .243 Win barrel on an M1.

      Thanks again for posting!

      • Brittius says:

        The .308 is fine, as you say despite it not being the tanker model.
        The .243 is light but that too would be a matter of personal selection for a chambering.
        The .30-06 remains a super sweet cartridge for the massive weight provided that the gas port is kept clean.

Leave a Reply

