Finding a Bag

I realize I have not posted on this blog in quite some time. I am going to gripe today.

I can never find a bag that I like. I have a good backpack for camping and backpacking. I love it. However, I can’t find a regular book bag type backpack that I like. My closet is filled with backpacks that aren’t what I was looking for.

My requirements are straightforward: I want a daypack that can carry a hydration pack (holder in top, hole for spout), has a side pocket that I can reach while wearing it (a real pocket with a zipper, not these stupid open-topped pockets) and a few loops where I can attach carabiners. Heh, the spell check wants me to change “carabiners” to “carbines.” That’s be nice, too.

Most bags have two of the three features. Right now, I think the open-topped pockets are en-vogue. I can’t stand them. I might as well just the contents of those pockets away, as they will most certainly get lost.

At this point, I’m not even picky; I’d almost be willing to say any color, any price and I’ll take it, if it has those features.

I don’t know if you’ve ever worn a backpack with a hydration pack (mine is 3L) without the top hook. It’s worthless. The pack slides down and really hurts my back as it changes shape. Furthermore, it hangs out at the bottom of the bag, taking up more than its fair share of space, instead of hanging neatly from the hook.

I saw something close the other day, but when I examined it more closely, I could see that the stitching was already failing while the bag sat on the shelf. Unacceptable.

Anyway, I’m going to keep looking this time and not settle for less than a real bag.

Thank you for reading my blog!

This entry was posted in Hiking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

