White Ridge (Mesa) Bike Trails Hike

A few weekends ago, my girlfriend, son and I went for a brief hike along the White Ridge Bike Trails near San Ysidro, NM. I put “Mesa” in parentheses because most people in the area know this as “White Mesa” due to the white gypsum sand that covers the area.

Here is a screen shot of the area from Google Maps:

Screenshot_2014-11-27-20-11-49

And, if you really want to know where it is, here is a survey marker:

1108141541

Our first stop was to walk along the canyon rim. It was quite the view, and my camera is not doing this canyon justice.

1108141541a

Looking through my photos, I took quite a few pictures looking over the canyon rim. Most of them are similiar, so I will spare you 100 nearly-identical photos.

The purpose of this trip was to observe some geology. One place was this erosion surface that was tilted and exposed. This wall looks like it was constructed by man, but it is really a series of petrified mud cracks that has been tilted vertically.

1108141621

A little farther down the trail, we found several fossilized dinosaur bones. You may not believe me, but this is a well-documented area for dinosaur bones. My son was excellent at spotting them in the rocks at this part of the trail.

1108141647

Overall, we walked around three miles (a mile an a half each way). The trail is free and easily accessible by a two-wheel drive passenger car. It is only about 45 minutes outside of Albuquerque, and so I recommend it, if you have some down time in the city.

Thank you for reading my post.

This entry was posted in Geology, Hiking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

