American Rifleman: August, 2015

I just finished reading this month’s American Rifleman. I must say that some of it reads as, “toys that rich kids will have, and you never will,” but I really enjoyed a few of the articles.

My two favorite articles were “The Genesis of Sniping: Accuracy and Optics” by Martin Pegler, and “The East German Makarov: A Cold War Classic” by Cameron S. White.

In “The Genesis of Sniping: Accuracy and Optics,” Pegler describes the early history of rifled barrels as opposed to smoothbore barrels. In the early days of firearms, firearms were treated in much the same way arrows were treated; an archer did not aim at a specific target, but rather was part of a large wall of warriors volleying projectiles into an opposing wall of warriors. Once rifles came into play, a soldier could fire much more accurately, and the days of volley fire were ending.

The second article I really enjoyed was, “The East German Makarov: A Cold War Classic.” Actually, this isn’t even fair- I love everything Makarov, so it was neat to get the story of the East German Makarovs, as compared to the Polish PA-63, which is the closest thing I have to a true Makarov.

And, as always, I enjoy the regular column, “I Have This Old Gun…,” by Rick Hacker. This month’s column featured the Smith and Wesson Triple Lock. I am a sucker for old double action revolvers, so I enjoyed this article as well.

Thank you for reading this post.

References:

Hacker, Rick. “I Have This Old Gun…Smith and Wesson Triple Lock,” American Rifleman, August, 2015, pp 100.

Pegler, Martin. “The Genesis of Sniping: Accuracy and Optics,” American Rifleman, August 2015, pp. 57-61.

White, Cameron S. “The East German Makarov: A Cold War Classic,” American Rifleman, August, 2015, pp. 67-69, 94, 99.

This entry was posted in Firearms, Guns and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

