Book Review: “Rogue Warrior” by Richard Marcinko

A few days ago, I finished reading “Rogue Warrior” by Richard Marcinko.  I am writing this post as a book review, as I feel that much  of my readership will appreciate what this book has to offer.

Richard Marcinko was a Navy SEAL, and was THE Navy SEAL that formed SEAL Team Six.  Between his service in Vietnam, his contributions to anti-terrorism (long before 9/11) and “Red Cell,” where his team tested security at goveernment failities, he has quite the interesting story to tell.

Most of all was the inspiration this story has to offer.  Een though I’m not finding and eliminating VC couriers, predicting car bombs in Beruit, sitting on the bottom of the harbor under cruise ships, or performing High Altitude, Low Open (HALO) parachute missions, I find that his ability to test the limits of human fitness have me literally running the extra mile.  Just when I think I can’t run another step, I remember his story about running during “Hell Week” while he had the ‘runs.’ Rather than complain, he simply stated that if he ran fast enough, the smell of “what was running down his leg and into his boot” was for the person behind him.  Or when I think I have an awkward negotiation at work, he talks about eating cobra venom sacs as a rite of passage in southeast Asia.  And then, after all of it- his wife divorcing him for his Navy lifestyle, then being arrested and imprisoned for making officers in the Navy ook bad (amongst other things), he laughs about it and writes a book.

The violence and the language are not for the faint of heart.  It’s not that Marcinko is particularly hateful, but when he has a job to do, he has no problem shooting an unsuspecting, unarmed VC.  His world can be dividied into “Academy” folks and men in the trenches- men in the trenches use the “F-word” and Aacdemy men do not.

Overall it was a great book, and I recommend it.

Thank you for reading my post.

This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

