NaNoWriMo and Winter

Each November, I make an attempt to participate in the NaNoWriMo challenge, where I attempt to crap out a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. I have yet to actually do it, but last year’s novel and this year’s novel are two parts of the same survival story.

The story features a group of students who, en route to a conference, learn that the country has been bombed.  With no place to go, the students decide to spend the winter in an abandoned gas station in rural Colorado.

Having spent the last few days driving across Texas during this arctic cold front, with no heat in my car, I’m going to have to beef up the part of the story where they somehow winter in Colorado.  I think they’d all die in the first few nights.

It gives me appreciation for winter camping gear.  I have some from my days living in Maryland, and camping on the east coast, but I may need to add to this collection.  Winter camping was a lot of fun, but only if you have the gear to keep warm.

Thank you for reading my post.

This entry was posted in Camping Prep, Commentary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

