My Mother, Bird Rescuer

I was digging through some old pictures on my phone and I found a few from this winter. A bird had flown into the sliding door. it was stunned. My mother picked it up and held it, kept it warm.

After a little while, the bird was ready to fly again.

Another day over Christmas, this happened again, and she did the same thing.

Sometimes, the bird doesn’t make it, but she’s able to save quite a few of them.

This evening, JoAnna was sitting outside and she says, “there’s a parakeet in the tree.” I went outside and sure enough, there it was. I had heard one of my neighbors say their parakeet had gotten free a few weeks ago.

We tried to lure it down with no success. Eventually, it flew to the neighbor’s house. We got the neighbor, and they sprayed it with the hose. It had trouble flying, and then they were able to catch it with a net. He has returned home!

Thank you for reading my post.

This entry was posted in animal, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.