Root Borers

A few weeks ago, I was leaving the Magdalena school and saw a bush completely covered with these guys:

They had all descended upon one bush and were eating every leaf on it. You could almost hear them crunching away.

The next day, they were on the next bush:

Thousands of them. I have seen them walking along, but only recently have I seen them attack a plant. They ate every leaf- the bushes are totally barren now.

Then we had our first freeze- there are bunches of dead ones at the base of one of the bushes.

I looked around online and apparently these are root borers. According to http://www.WhatsThatBug.com, they carry no venom, but can bite hard enough to draw blood if you annoy them enough. Thanks, but no thanks.

Thank you for reading my post.

This entry was posted in animal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.